2022 Special Fester – Liam Caulkins

2022 Special Fester - Liam

Liam Caulkins, who was born with hearing impairment, used American Sign Language as his first communication. Here, he’s signing “smile.”

Liam Caulkins is a seventh grader at Onalaska Middle School. He is the son of Robert and Kimberly Caulkins. He has one older brother Collin Caulkins. Liam enjoys spending time outdoors gardening with his grandmother, playing Minecraft, and recently participated in La Crosse Community Theatres Penguin Project production of Seussical Jr. the musical. Liam was born with various medical issues including hearing impairment, a congenital heart defect, global developmental delay, and Autism. Due to his hearing impairment Liam’s 1st language was American sign language. Despite the delay in his speech Liam is a social butterfly who loves meeting new people and engaging in any activity that allows him the opportunity to communicate with others.

Former Special Festers

YearSpecial Fester
2021Rylee Beahm
2019-2020Danielle Lass
2018Mackenzie Peterson
2017Keaton Hall
2016Gunner Skroch
2015Brianne Cooper
2014Makayla Olson
2013Conner Ellis
2012Erik O'Brien
2011Sydney Fitzpatrick
2010Jonah Cowgill
2009Brevin Terpstra
2008Alysha Klatt
2007Danny Alderman
2006Emily Limbach
2005Mitch Kaiser
2004Cassie Strand
2003Keith Stachowitz
2002Andrew Fruit
2001Teri Gerlach*
2000Katie Kane
1999Jareau Ammann
1998Thea Aspenson
1997Molly Mulrennan
1996Devon Sprain
1995Patrick Molzahn
1994Ashley Adams
1993Amanda Hundt*
1992Brad Swinghammer
1991Jamie Williams
1990Jill Bakalars
1989Miranda Roberts
* Fondly Remembered

Special Fester Nomination

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 Special Fester. Download, complete and submit the Special Fester Nomination form or complete the form online. Completed applications can be returned to the Oktoberfest office:

[email protected]

PO Box 1716

La Crosse, WI 54602